Got "ERROR" while checking modem on /dev/ttyAMA0 for PIN req

The SparqEE CELLv1.0 device.
pk2k
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 2:07 pm

Got "ERROR" while checking modem on /dev/ttyAMA0 for PIN req

Postby pk2k » Fri Jul 17, 2015 2:51 pm

I have a Sparqee on Raspberry Pi B+, Not having much luck I am afraid

I have attached the device, have 5 solid orange lights,
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install ppp
sudo wget "http://www.sakis3g.com/downloads/sakis3g.tar.gz" -O sakis3g.tar.gz
Then unzip the file
sudo tar -xzvf sakis3g.tar.gz
Make the file executable
sudo chmod +x sakis3g
And finally launch it with the below command:
./sakis3g connect --console --debug --nostorage --pppd APN="internetd.gdsp" BAUD=115200 CUSTOM_TTY="/dev/ttyAMA0" MODEM="OTHER" OTHER="CUSTOM_TTY" --noprobe


running commands with either Telstra SIM or supplied vodaphone SIM gives same error
"[04085] [22:35:17] Got "ERROR" while checking modem on /dev/ttyAMA0 for PIN requirement.
[04085] [22:35:17] Error: Modem responded "ERROR" while checking for PIN.
Modem responded "ERROR" while checking for PIN.
[04085] [22:35:18] Error: Failed to connect.
Failed to connect.

Note: Also minicom says offline and does not accept any input
/boot/cmdline.txt = dwc_otg.lpm_enable=0 console=tty1 root=/dev/mmcblk0p2 rootfstype=ext4 elevator=deadline rootwait
I have also edited /etc/inittab to hash out the below line
#T0:23:respawn:/sbin/getty -L ttyAMA0 115200 vt100

is all this ok? what is wrong

User avatar
donjohnii
Site Admin
Posts: 686
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2013 2:19 pm

Re: Got "ERROR" while checking modem on /dev/ttyAMA0 for PIN

Postby donjohnii » Fri Jul 17, 2015 2:57 pm

You have to turn it on first. Take a look at the startup scripts... one of the main 3 leds must be on

pk2k
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 2:07 pm

Re: Got "ERROR" while checking modem on /dev/ttyAMA0 for PIN

Postby pk2k » Mon Jul 20, 2015 8:46 pm

donjohnii wrote:You have to turn it on first. Take a look at the startup scripts... one of the main 3 leds must be on


Sorry for late reply auto notifications not working.

Donjohnii, not sure what you mean by startup scripts, where can I get these, or view these. I am attaching this to a standard Noobs build I have been using for some time. wanting to add 3G internet to existing project

Have I missed a step in the installation?

User avatar
donjohnii
Site Admin
Posts: 686
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2013 2:19 pm

Re: Got "ERROR" while checking modem on /dev/ttyAMA0 for PIN

Postby donjohnii » Tue Jul 21, 2015 5:11 am

http://www.sparqee.com/portfolio/sparqee-cell/

First example code shows how to turn it on.

It can also be done within python and is available in the library and low level examples.

pk2k
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 2:07 pm

Re: Got "ERROR" while checking modem on /dev/ttyAMA0 for PIN

Postby pk2k » Thu Jul 23, 2015 2:13 am

Hi

Sorry still not having any luck. trying to diagnose if device is faulty
When device is completely removed from raspberry with USB cable plugged directly into the Sparqee
first get one orange LED, I jump a wire from PO to GND I get 5 solid orange LEDS and 1 red LED shortly after the red LED goes out and the 5 orange LEDS flash continuously.

Plugged in with Raspberry off 1 faint orange LED, red LED and blue LED faintly lit. jumper PO with GND and the 3 centre LEDS light then flash with blue and red LED faintly

Remove power from the Sparqee Plug in Raspberry and boot, I get 5 orange LEDS, jumper PO and GND 1 orange LED (closest to the 3 GSM status leds) goes off that is all.

If both have power (Raspberry and Sparqee) 4 orange LEDS are lit bright first orange LED is off (closest to edge of board) Jump PO and GND all orange LEDS come on and the RED LED, then these LEDS just flash continuously.
Minicom always says offline.
Do I have a faulty device? I would Hate to think I am spending hours on this for no possible good outcome.

pk2k
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 2:07 pm

Re: Got "ERROR" while checking modem on /dev/ttyAMA0 for PIN

Postby pk2k » Thu Jul 23, 2015 2:15 am

Do both Raspberry and Sparqee need power cables?

Perhaps my GPIO's are in wrong state.

Appreciate any assistance

User avatar
donjohnii
Site Admin
Posts: 686
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2013 2:19 pm

Re: Got "ERROR" while checking modem on /dev/ttyAMA0 for PIN

Postby donjohnii » Thu Jul 23, 2015 7:28 am

You mentioned jumping PO to GND - that should be momentary, like press GND to PO then remove it. Keeping it there may cause the resets you're seeing.

Both devices need power - make sure you've read through:
"Raspberry Pi: Full initial installation (works for B+ and 2 also) - ShieldP" on the RasPi page
http://www.sparqee.com/portfolio/sparqee-shieldrb/

That being said, never have I seen the status lights flash on and off. That could be a faulty device. The best way to check the module would be to go into either "Type 3 – Modem Mode" or "Type 4 – UART Interface" on the SparqEE CELLv1.0 page:
http://www.sparqee.com/portfolio/sparqee-cell/
This means you're testing the device while NOT connected to anything else. This would focus on your CELLv1.0 itself. Make sure it's wired up like the picture. You can even post a pic here to show that what you have is correct.

Do you a TTL converter? If so, use the "UART Interface." If not, use the "Modem Mode."

pk2k
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 2:07 pm

Re: Got "ERROR" while checking modem on /dev/ttyAMA0 for PIN

Postby pk2k » Thu Jul 23, 2015 2:08 pm

Do not have a TTL converter
Can not seem to get the modem to show up in windows-8, have installed the driver, C:\Program Files (x86)\WCDMA USB Modem Driver\drivers\64bit\WIN7\ exists.
modem is not detected in device manager, neither can it be added in 'add modems'. When attempting manual install of modem nothing shows in the list.

Have to assume not compatible with W8 will need to find W7 workstation

User avatar
donjohnii
Site Admin
Posts: 686
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2013 2:19 pm

Re: Got "ERROR" while checking modem on /dev/ttyAMA0 for PIN

Postby donjohnii » Thu Jul 23, 2015 2:15 pm

Nope. I use 8.1, should work just fine.

Without a TTL converter I guess you'll have to test on the RasPi... not exactly going to tell you if it's a CELLv1.0 vs. RasPi shield issue.

If you take a pic of both sides of the CELLv1.0 and RasPi shield I'll see if anything looks wonky.
You can also take a pic of the device in operation to comment on it

pk2k
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 2:07 pm

Re: Got "ERROR" while checking modem on /dev/ttyAMA0 for PIN

Postby pk2k » Thu Jul 23, 2015 2:46 pm

Hm go figure I have reassembled and started Pi, then jumped PO and gnd now have steady 5 Orange LEDS and 1 RED LED

"sudo minicom -b 115200 -o -D /dev/ttyAMA0"
still says offline,
will do more testing.


Return to “CELLv1.0”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest