Using SparqEE internal GPS

The SparqEE CELLv1.0 device.
alonsortan
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2016 1:56 am

Using SparqEE internal GPS

Postby alonsortan » Thu Aug 11, 2016 6:16 pm

Hi,

I will like to find out if it is possible to connect a GPS antenna to the existing SparqEE Cell module? I will like to using the GPS AT commands on ZTE MF206 module.

Thank you.

User avatar
donjohnii
Site Admin
Posts: 686
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2013 2:19 pm

Re: Using SparqEE internal GPS

Postby donjohnii » Thu Aug 11, 2016 6:33 pm

Here's a relevant post/explanation for you:
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=624&p=1014&hilit=gps+connector#p1014

alonsortan
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2016 1:56 am

Re: Using SparqEE internal GPS

Postby alonsortan » Thu Aug 11, 2016 10:16 pm

Hi

I'm looking at populating the GPS portion, how should i go about doing it?

User avatar
donjohnii
Site Admin
Posts: 686
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2013 2:19 pm

Re: Using SparqEE internal GPS

Postby donjohnii » Thu Aug 11, 2016 10:34 pm

alonsortan wrote:Hi

I'm looking at populating the GPS portion, how should i go about doing it?


What do you mean? Did you take a look at that post? It talks about the parts and the values in the schematic.

alonsortan
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2016 1:56 am

Re: Using SparqEE internal GPS

Postby alonsortan » Thu Aug 11, 2016 10:38 pm

Hi,

Let me rephrase my question. I will want to use the SparqEE Cell V1.0 to actually get a current location is there by far any AT commands that I can use to get hold of my current location for both indoor and outdoor.

User avatar
donjohnii
Site Admin
Posts: 686
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2013 2:19 pm

Re: Using SparqEE internal GPS

Postby donjohnii » Thu Aug 11, 2016 10:41 pm

alonsortan wrote:Hi,

Let me rephrase my question. I will want to use the SparqEE Cell V1.0 to actually get a current location is there by far any AT commands that I can use to get hold of my current location for both indoor and outdoor.


Sure, if you install the passives and U.FL connector, then attach a GPS antenna, then yes, you should be able to get a GPS location using AT commands which spit out NMEA strings.

It was easier to include an external GPS device however, like we offer, due to the better characteristics of the included SIRF chip and the potential for having to use a network analyzer to optimize the passives.


Return to “CELLv1.0”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests